Here's how to block someone from your iPhone or iPad in a few easy steps

Here’s how to block someone from your iPhone or iPad in a few easy steps

Spread the love

Fall means one thing for Apple fans: the launch of a new iPhone and iOS. The iPhone 14 gets better crash detection and satellite communication in emergencies, and the Pro models add an always-on display.

However, you don’t need the latest iPhone to enjoy the benefits of iOS 16. And the great news is that you can finally edit and unsend text messages. Before you get too excited, there are some things you need to know. Tap or click here to find out what happens when you undo, edit, or delete text in iOS 16.

Sometimes repeating a text is not enough. If you’re contacted by someone you don’t want to hear from, you can block them from contacting you by phone, text, email, and more. Here’s how to block someone from your iPhone or iPad.

How blocking works on your Apple devices

Whether it’s a stranger or someone you know well, blocking them will prevent them from contacting you through your Apple device.

Here are some important points to note:

  • If you block someone on one device, they’re blocked on all Apple devices signed in with the same Apple ID.
  • Block a contact in Call, FaceTime, postsWhere Mail blocks them on all four apps.
  • The person you block won’t receive a notification that they’ve been blocked.
  • You can still call, message, or email a blocked contact without unblocking them.
  • If you block someone you share your location with, they will receive a notification that you have stopped sharing your location with them.

REMARK: If someone continues to harass you and put you in danger, report it to the authorities.

You might also like: 5 easy iPhone video editing tips to make your footage stand out

Block someone through the Phone app on your iPhone

  • Open the Call app and press Favorites, Recent Where Voice Messaging.
  • Press the Information next to the contact you want to block.
  • Scroll down and tap Block this caller > Block contact.
    • You can also block a contact directly by going to Contact details > [contact name] > Block this caller > Block contact.

Block someone through the Messages app on your iPhone or iPad

  • Open the posts app and tap a conversation.
  • Tap the name, number, or profile picture at the top of the screen.
  • Press the Information button under the ignition.
  • Scroll down and tap Block this caller > Block contact.

Block someone through the FaceTime app on your iPhone or iPad

  • Open the face time app and you will see your call history.
  • Press the Information next to the contact you want to block.
  • Scroll down and tap Block this caller > Block Contacts.

Block someone through the Mail app on your iPhone or iPad

  • Open the Mail app and select an email from the sender you want to block.
  • Tap their name at the top of the email.
  • Faucet Block this contact > Block contact.

REMARK: If the sender has already been marked as a VIP in Mail, you must first press Remove from VIP before you can block them.

Manage your blocked contacts

You can manage your contacts through apps that allow you to block: Call, FaceTime, posts and Mail. Unblocking a contact in one app unblocks that contact in all four apps.

Here’s how to view and manage your blocked contacts:

  • iPhone: Go to Settings > Phone > Blocked Contacts.
  • FaceTime app on your iPhone or iPad: Go to Settings > Face Timethen scroll down and tap Blocked Contacts.
  • Messages app on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch: Go to Settings > Messagingthen scroll down and tap Blocked Contacts.
  • Mail app on your iPhone or iPad: Go to Settings > Mailthen scroll down and tap Blocked.

To unblock a contact, follow the steps above and swipe the contact’s name or number to the left to reveal a Unlock button.

You might also like: Update your iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Apple TV today

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.